As a precautionary response to COVID-19, Ohio EPA is currently operating with most staff working remotely. If you are working with our staff on a current project and you know the name of the employee you are working with, email them at or call them directly. The Agency website has contact information for every district, division, and office. To report a spill or environmental emergency, contact the spill hotline (800) 282-9378 or (614) 224-0946. This number should only be used for emergencies. For all other calls, please contact Ohio EPA’s main phone line at (614) 644-3020 or the main line for the division or office you are trying to reach.

After March 23, our district offices and Central Office will be temporarily closed and will have increasingly limited ability to receive deliveries, plans, etc. All entities are encouraged to submit plans, permit applications, etc., electronically where there are existing avenues to do so, such as the eBusiness Center (eBiz). Please refer to the list of available services on the main eBiz webpage. We encourage you to make use of all that apply, even if you have not used eBiz in the past. Plans under 25 MB can be emailed. For large plans over 25 MB, entities should work with the reviewer/division to upload via LiquidFiles. Directions for submitting docs via LiquidFiles is available on YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you in advance for your understanding. If you wish to send hard copies of documents to any of Ohio EPA’s district offices, the best method to ensure we receive these documents is to send them via U.S. Mail. Since all offices are closed, deliveries outside of U.S. Mail (FedEx, UPS) will likely be returned because the offices are closed and deliveries cannot be made.


For Immediate Release
September 9, 2020

Ohio Lake Erie Commission Approves H2Ohio Technology Assessment Program Advisory Council

To guide the State in addressing harmful algal blooms (HABs) in Lake Erie, today the Ohio Lake Erie Commission (OLEC) announced the creation of the H2Ohio Technology Assessment Program (TAP) Advisory Council.  The TAP Advisory Council will evaluate and validate technology proposals and facilitate demonstration projects to determine their effectiveness at addressing HABs. OLEC has also selected Tetra Tech as a third-party technology vendor to assist the TAP Advisory Council in evaluating the most promising technologies.

The TAP Advisory Council will represent a broad cross section of interests and will include non-governmental organizations, private corporations, and state agencies. Members will have expertise evaluating technologies to reduce nutrient loading, experience addressing HABs in Lake Erie, or experience evaluating other types innovative technologies.

Selected members of the TAP Advisory Council include:

  • David Emerman, Ohio Lake Erie Commission;
  • Carol Kauffman, Scott Miracle-Gro Company;
  • Bryan Stubbs, Cleveland Water Alliance;
  • Crystal M.C. Davis, Alliance for the Great Lakes;
  • Amy Brennan, The Nature Conservancy;
  • Jordan Hoewischer, Ohio Farm Bureau Federation;
  • Mindy Kairis, Owens Corning;
  • Dr. Lee Hammerling, ProMedica;
  • Moisés Noreña, Moen;
  • Brian Hall, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency;
  • Natalie Pirvu, Ohio Department of Natural Resources;
  • Kip Studer, Ohio Department of Agriculture; and
  • Chris Winslow, Ohio Sea Grant.

The TAP Advisory Council will advise the State on the solicitation and evaluation of emerging technologies that:

  • reduce nutrient loading to rivers, streams, and lakes;
  • remove nutrients from rivers, streams, and lakes;
  • reduce the intensity or toxicity of algal blooms;
  • recover nutrients from manure; and
  • improve nutrient removal in wastewater treatment plants.

The TAP Advisory Council intends to issue a request for proposals in November, evaluate all of the proposals received, and select the top 10 technologies. Each of the top 10 technologies will be independently evaluated by Tetra Tech. The companies or organizations with the top 10 technologies will propose demonstration projects and submit more comprehensive information and data under the protection of a non-disclosure agreement.

Additional information about the Technology Assessment Program and the process can be found in the program’s fact sheet.

The Ohio Lake Erie Commission was established for the purpose of preserving Lake Erie's natural resources, protecting the quality of its waters and ecosystem, and promoting economic development in the region. The director of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (Ohio EPA) serves as the commission's chairman. Additional members include the directors of the state departments of Transportation, Health, Development Services, Agriculture, Natural Resources, and seven additional members of the public appointed by the governor.

Launched by Governor Mike DeWine in 2019, H2Ohio is a collaborative water quality effort to provide clean and safe water to Ohio. The Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Ohio Department of Agriculture, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, and Ohio Lake Erie Commission each has a significant role in H2Ohio through the natural infrastructure of wetlands, the reduction in nutrient runoff, and increasing access to clean drinking water and quality sewer systems. To learn more, go to

- ### -

For more information, contact:
Heidi Griesmer
(614) 644-2160

Get to the
Right Person Faster