As a precautionary response to COVID-19, Ohio EPA is currently operating with most staff working remotely. If you are working with our staff on a current project and you know the name of the employee you are working with, email them at or call them directly. The Agency website has contact information for every district, division, and office. To report a spill or environmental emergency, contact the spill hotline (800) 282-9378 or (614) 224-0946. This number should only be used for emergencies. For all other calls, please contact Ohio EPA’s main phone line at (614) 644-3020 or the main line for the division or office you are trying to reach.

After March 23, our district offices and Central Office will be temporarily closed and will have increasingly limited ability to receive deliveries, plans, etc. All entities are encouraged to submit plans, permit applications, etc., electronically where there are existing avenues to do so, such as the eBusiness Center (eBiz). Please refer to the list of available services on the main eBiz webpage. We encourage you to make use of all that apply, even if you have not used eBiz in the past. Plans under 25 MB can be emailed. For large plans over 25 MB, entities should work with the reviewer/division to upload via LiquidFiles. Directions for submitting docs via LiquidFiles is available on YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you in advance for your understanding. If you wish to send hard copies of documents to any of Ohio EPA’s district offices, the best method to ensure we receive these documents is to send them via U.S. Mail. Since all offices are closed, deliveries outside of U.S. Mail (FedEx, UPS) will likely be returned because the offices are closed and deliveries cannot be made.



Dina Pierce, Ohio EPA, (614) 644-2160
Matt Bruning, ODOT, (614) 466-6906

Ohio EPA, ODOT Announce Diesel Emission Reduction Grants for Public Transit

Grants in Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Lake, Montgomery, Portage, Stark counties to eliminate 7 tons of pollutants annually

The Ohio Diesel Emissions Reduction Grant (DERG) Program has awarded seven grants totaling almost $7 million for replacing 29 aging diesel transit buses with newer, cleaner diesel technology or alternative fuel technology. Nine of the new buses will be electric, 11 will be powered by compressed natural gas (CNG) and nine powered by new cleaner diesel technology.

“These grants help support the efforts of Ohio’s local transit systems to modernize their bus fleets,” said Governor Mike DeWine.  “More importantly, these projects help improve air quality as we continue working to reduce pollution from diesel transit buses that operate in residential neighborhoods.” 

Ohio EPA estimates that these projects will result in an annual reduction of more than seven tons of air pollutants. These benefits will continue to accrue each year the new buses remain in service.   

The projects that were funded include:

  • Central Ohio Transit Authority (COTA) in Franklin County is receiving $1,439,496 to cover 16 percent of the cost to replace nine model year 2009 diesel-powered buses with nine new electric-powered buses.
  • Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (GCRTA) in Cuyahoga County is receiving $1,644,131 to cover 67 percent of the cost to replace five model year 2005 diesel-powered buses with five new CNG-powered buses.
  • Greater Dayton Regional Transit Authority (GDRTA) in Montgomery County is receiving $766,899 to cover 80 percent of the cost to replace two model year 2008 diesel-powered buses with two new diesel-powered buses.
  • Lake Transit Authority (LAKETRAN) in Lake County is receiving $411,828 for 80 percent of the cost to replace one model year 2010 diesel-powered bus with one new diesel-powered bus.
  • Portage Area Regional Transportation Authority (PARTA) in Portage County is receiving $703,038 for 70 percent of the cost to replace two model year 2007 diesel-powered buses with two new diesel-powered bus. 
  • Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority (SORTA) in Hamilton County is receiving $1,269,893 for 60 percent of the cost to replace four model year 2006 diesel-powered buses with four new diesel-powered buses.
  • Stark Area Regional Transit Authority (SARTA) in Stark County is receiving $758,035 for 80 percent of the cost to replace six model year 2014 diesel-powered bus with six new CNG-powered buses.

Funding for the grants comes from the Federal Highway Administrations’ Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) program. The next DERG application deadline is expected to be in autumn 2020. Prospective applicants are encouraged to contact to receive email updates when the “Request for Proposals” is released. Applications may be submitted for projects in 35 eligible Ohio counties, and portions of three other counties. The Ohio program is administered jointly by the Ohio Department of Transportation and Ohio EPA.

More information is available online:


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.

Get to the
Right Person Faster