As a precautionary response to COVID-19, Ohio EPA is currently operating with most staff working remotely. If you are working with our staff on a current project and you know the name of the employee you are working with, email them at or call them directly. The Agency website has contact information for every district, division, and office. To report a spill or environmental emergency, contact the spill hotline (800) 282-9378 or (614) 224-0946. This number should only be used for emergencies. For all other calls, please contact Ohio EPA’s main phone line at (614) 644-3020 or the main line for the division or office you are trying to reach.

After March 23, our district offices and Central Office will be temporarily closed and will have increasingly limited ability to receive deliveries, plans, etc. All entities are encouraged to submit plans, permit applications, etc., electronically where there are existing avenues to do so, such as the eBusiness Center (eBiz). Please refer to the list of available services on the main eBiz webpage. We encourage you to make use of all that apply, even if you have not used eBiz in the past. Plans under 25 MB can be emailed. For large plans over 25 MB, entities should work with the reviewer/division to upload via LiquidFiles. Directions for submitting docs via LiquidFiles is available on YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you in advance for your understanding. If you wish to send hard copies of documents to any of Ohio EPA’s district offices, the best method to ensure we receive these documents is to send them via U.S. Mail. Since all offices are closed, deliveries outside of U.S. Mail (FedEx, UPS) will likely be returned because the offices are closed and deliveries cannot be made.


Ohio EPA Holds Sulfur Dioxide Area Designations Hearing

Ohio EPA is holding a public hearing on Friday, Dec. 16, 2016 concerning areas in Ohio that the Agency will be recommending U.S. EPA designate as attaining the revised sulfur dioxide (SO2) standard.

The hearing will be held at 10:30 a.m. on the 6th Floor in conference room B, Lazarus Government Center, 50 W. Town Street, Suite 700, Columbus. Upon arrival, registration with a personal ID at the security desk is required.

The revised SO2 standard replaced the 24-hour and annual standards with a new 1-hour standard of 75 ppb. Recommendations will encompass all or parts of 85 counties not previously designated under the new 1-hour standard.

Ohio’s recommendations are due to U.S. EPA by Jan. 13, 2017. U.S. EPA will make a determination of the final designations by Dec 31. 2017. The comments received at the hearing will be used to formulate the State’s final formal recommendation proposal to U.S. EPA.

Comments on the proposed rule changes may be presented at the hearing or submitted to Ohio EPA Lazarus Government Center, Attention: Christopher Beekman, 50 W. Town Street, Suite 700, Columbus, Ohio 43216-1049. The public comment period ends Dec. 16.

For more information on the designations and associated documents see the proposal at:


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.