As a precautionary response to COVID-19, Ohio EPA is currently operating with most staff working remotely. If you are working with our staff on a current project and you know the name of the employee you are working with, email them at or call them directly. The Agency website has contact information for every district, division, and office. To report a spill or environmental emergency, contact the spill hotline (800) 282-9378 or (614) 224-0946. This number should only be used for emergencies. For all other calls, please contact Ohio EPA’s main phone line at (614) 644-3020 or the main line for the division or office you are trying to reach.

After March 23, our district offices and Central Office will be temporarily closed and will have increasingly limited ability to receive deliveries, plans, etc. All entities are encouraged to submit plans, permit applications, etc., electronically where there are existing avenues to do so, such as the eBusiness Center (eBiz). Please refer to the list of available services on the main eBiz webpage. We encourage you to make use of all that apply, even if you have not used eBiz in the past. Plans under 25 MB can be emailed. For large plans over 25 MB, entities should work with the reviewer/division to upload via LiquidFiles. Directions for submitting docs via LiquidFiles is available on YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you in advance for your understanding. If you wish to send hard copies of documents to any of Ohio EPA’s district offices, the best method to ensure we receive these documents is to send them via U.S. Mail. Since all offices are closed, deliveries outside of U.S. Mail (FedEx, UPS) will likely be returned because the offices are closed and deliveries cannot be made.


Ohio EPA Awards 2014 Scholarships

Seven environmental science and engineering students have been awarded scholarships to study at Ohio colleges and universities through Ohio EPA’s Environmental Education Fund.

The scholarship program is designed to encourage students to consider environmental science or engineering and to reward outstanding undergraduate students based on merit.

Students in four-year programs who will receive a $2,250 scholarship for the 2013-2014 academic year include:

  • Maura Brett-Eiger, Hiram College (Environmental Studies), Shaker Heights, OH;
  • Gabriella Patarini, Ohio Northern University (Civil Engineering), Elyria, OH;
  • Sara Jane Starr, Bowling Green State University (Environmental Science), Perrysburg, OH;
  • Janelle Horstman, Bowling Green State University (Environmental Science), Cloverdale, OH;
  • Daniel Johnson, The University of Toledo (Civil Engineering), Bowling Green, OH; and
  • Casey White, Urbana University (Math and Science Education), Bellefontaine, OH.

Receiving a $1,250 scholarship for the 2013-2014 academic year in a two-year
program is:

  • Michael Yearms, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College (Environmental Engineering), West Chester, OH.

In 2013, a total of $33,750 was awarded. The scholarship program is administered by the Ohio Academy of Science.

The next application deadline for scholarships is May 1, 2014. Additional information about the scholarship program is available by calling Ohio EPA’s Office of Environmental Education at (614) 644-2873 or visiting To learn more about the Ohio Academy of Science, call (614) 488-2228 or visit


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.