Scioto River Watershed

Scioto River watershedThe Scioto River watershed is located in central and southern Ohio.  It drains a total of 6,513 square miles and flows through all or part of 31 counties.  Major municipalities partially or fully in the watershed include Columbus and many of its suburbs, Delaware, Marysville, Chillicothe, Circleville, Jackson and Portsmouth.

The northern portion of the watershed is predominantly comprised of cultivated crops with some areas of substantial urban development.  The southern portion of the watershed is primarily comprised of forest with pockets of agricultural lands.

Ohio EPA is providing for public review and comment a draft Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Report for the Scioto River (upper) watershed. The report has been developed in fulfillment of Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act. The public review period ends on August 4, 2014. See “TMDL Report” under the Scioto River (upper) tab below to access the report. See also “Supplemental Information.”


Click here for a list of TMDL project contacts.

Back to the TMDL page.